Who would God vote for in 2012?

I’ve started to become a little tired of LZ’s abundant use of sarcasm. Don’t get me wrong, I think it adds a lot of flare to his writing and is one of the reasons I’ve never found myself bored reading one of his articles. But, I needed a little bit of a change… This is why I’m really glad I found his article, “Who does God want in the White House?” It is filled with just the right amount of witty remarks but mostly written in a serious (albeit disapproving) tone, filled with quotes from candidates and well written statements that underscore his argument.

In the article, LZ argues that it is really disgusting that many of the GOP candidates (namely Bachmann, Cain, Perry, and Santorum) have now made references that God is leading them to run in the 2012 election. Essentially, this is like saying that God is on their side in this election. By making the outrageous insinuation that they have the Almighty’s support, they’re really cheapening religious belief and taking advantage of the power faith plays in political elections.

“‘I felt like Moses when God said, ‘I want you to go into Egypt and lead my people out.'” Cain said. “Moses resisted. I resisted. … But you shouldn’t question God.’ Repeat: You shouldn’t question God.”

Rick Perry’s wife, Anita, also had this to say during an interview, “[the other candidates are]  there for good reasons. And they may feel like God called them, too … I truly feel like we are here for that purpose.”

It is important that I clarify LZ isn’t just picking on the GOP. He is similarly disgusted when Democratic politicians cross the line and try to “out-God” one another. Regardless of party affiliation, candidates and other politicians shouldn’t claim Divine preference, it’s just wrong. What is this, 16th Century England? However, he does say that no Democrat has really publicly stated that they were called by God to run. “Not because Democrats are not religious, but because they seem to know where the line is.”

I especially liked one of LZ’s last points, when he said that if candidates continue to try to manipulate the public and claim that they’re supported by God himself, we’re soon going to see outrageously offensive slogans. His examples include:

“Vote for me or God won’t bless America.”

“Vote for me, or you’ll be left behind.”

“Vote for me… Jesus did.”

Right now, I don’t think anything this bad would fly in the 2012 election. But really, we might not be too far off. Can’t politicians, Democrats and Republicans alike, just stop trying to use religion to win elections.

What ever happened to their political platforms and ideals? (Well, unless they try to claim these were somehow derived from a conversation with The Big Man Upstairs also…)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Politicians use religion to appeal to a major ‘social issue voter’ constituency. I think the problem is not limited to religious appeals. I think we need to focus more on the economy and foreign policy and de-emphasize the social issues. There are more important things to look for in a leader than his or her thoughts on who should worship whom and who should marry whom.

    Reply

  2. Favorite line: “What is this, 16th Century England?” Sadly, it’s hard to tell, isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. I think for Republicans, religion might play a big role in this election. I was able to read an article in the New York Times that brought up the fact that Romney is a Mormon. Evangelical Christians said that this factor would cause them to not support him. I’m wondering if Romney is trying to leave religion out of his campaigning– I noticed you didn’t include an instance in which he suggested that God was on his side.

    Reply

  4. Talking about politics and religion, I feel an obligation to mention the recent campaign ad for Rick Perry.

    Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PAJNntoRgA

    I have never really been for or against including religion in politics. Many people feel that the two should not be mixed, but I am not completely convinced. I feel that no matter how one looks at it, politicians are always combining religion with politics, even if it is to talk about how religion and politics shouldn’t be together. It is an interesting topic.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lindsay on December 15, 2011 at 4:36 am

    This is an excellent post. I like the term “out-God.” A lot of candidates say they feel like God called them to run for office, but only one of them will actually be elected. This could get into a religious/theological debate, but I’m not going to get into that. My personal feeling is that religion and politics shouldn’t be mixed, but many politicians continue to do just that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

